Broken House

Everything is empty
My body feels like a broken house
Although it still stands
And is wide open
People walk right past it
And feel like if they enter
The house will collapse
Onto their freshly painted nails
and unbreakable bonds
Their fixed sadness
And their untangled thoughts
are being interrupted
by a house that is no longer together
and has no one to build it back up
because it was once beautiful
it once had the most wonderful texture
that if a stranger touched it
they’d be mesmerized

But now my body is a broken house
and I’ve been abandoned
I still stand and I’m still unlocked
But I’m too weak to be fixed
My skin is as tampered as the wilted wood
My voice is as creaky as the floor
My tears flow down my face
As forcefully as the broken sink

Leave a Reply

